Media Research Group Awards 2023

Media Research Group Awards 2023

Sponsored by UKOM

We’re delighted to announce that the Media Research Group Awards are back for 2023 and better than ever!

This year’s MRG Awards ceremony will take place as part the Gala dinner at our Annual Conference in Malaga, on Friday 24th November. Entries will open from 26th June until 5.30pm on Monday 7th August.

These unique awards specifically celebrate the achievements of the media research industry. Research/insight teams are the heartbeat of media and high calibre research can add a crucial creative and competitive edge to a media entity. This is your chance to be recognised by your peers and the most senior media movers and shakers at our highly anticipated media research awards where we will celebrate the very brightest and most creative media research talent from the past year.

There’s a couple of changes to this year’s awards, and we have a brand new award category for Best Tech Innovation in Research. Have you found an exciting way of using ChatGPT or the Metaverse? Or have you pioneered a completely new technology? We seek to celebrate the best, most innovative and insightful application of technology to uncover new insights.

This year we have also decided to name the award for Best Realisation of Research Award after James Smythe, who sadly passed away last year. James was a committed and loyal supporter of the MRG – a member for many many years, a committee member, a conference sponsor and speaker and a regular attender at events; he was also generous with his time in running training sessions for the MRG.  We miss him. He was passionate about clients getting maximum value from their research and data and thus the Best Realisation of Research Award seems a fitting tribute to him.

So on to the awards…

Teamwork is, of course, vital and the MRG Awards are all about the ‘team’. So as well as celebrating individual pieces of research we are looking for really exceptional and effective insight teams that have worked together to produce outstanding research. We want to recognise true diversity of media thinking and research teams that drive media excellence.

What are we looking for?

Our team of judges, a range of senior and esteemed media professionals from across the sector, will be searching for those really cutting-edge teams whose talent and groundbreaking ‘insight’ make them really stand out from the rest. We will also be focusing on consistency, and looking for teams that can show that they have continually achieved outstanding results over the past year. Has your team truly made a difference, either internally or externally?

What will make you stand out?

There will be extra kudos for teams that show evidence of flair, creativity (the use of existing research in a new way or developing a project that has made a real business contribution) and the development of talent (perhaps particular recognition was given to an individual who excelled in a new skill or area). Team work is also incredibly important to the judging criteria, with those who demonstrate a positive working culture favoured.

Will you win one of our coveted awards?

The Categories

The Award Categories are:

  • Best Research Team – Media Agency
  • Best Research Team – Media Owner
  • Best Research Team – Research Supplier
  • Best Research Initiative
  • Nick Blake Award for Rising Star
  • Best Trade/Industry Body Research
  • Best Research Innovation Award
  • James Smythe Award for Best Realisation of Research
  • Best International Research
  • Best Research Collaboration
  • NEW: Best Tech Innovation in Research   
  • Excellence in Media Effectiveness

Entry forms can be downloaded here.

As in previous years, we’ve scrapped the entry fee for the Nick Blake Rising Star award, in order to support and nurture young talent in our industry and open the playing field to all potential nominees, regardless of their company’s award budget.

Entries for all other categories are £199.

Please note that this year the awards are open to projects which took place from 1st August 2021 onwards.

  • Entries open: 26th June 2023
  • Deadline for submissions: 5.30pm on 7th August 2023
  • Shortlist announced: 29th September 2023
  • Awards presentation: 24th November 2023 at the Gala dinner at our Malaga based MRG Annual conference

For more information of Categories and Entry Forms - Please click here